Fedora 16 Tweaks (Acer Aspire One 722)

Although Fedora 16 LXDE spin performed best on my netbook, there were still a few things I tweaked/fixed to get it running just right.

Touchpad Settings

The “tap to click” and edge scrolling were not enabled on my touchpad. Also, the LXDE spin doesn’t come with any GUI utility for editing mouse and touchpad settings. Thankfully this is easily fixed by installing gpointing-device-settings-

sudo yum install gpointing-device-settings

Unfortunately when I opened it up, I found that tap to click and vertical scrolling were already supposedly enabled. Revert to the command line: Run synclient. Simply typing

synclient

brings up the list of available commands and values. Very slick little utility. I simply set

synclient VertEdgeScroll=1
synclient TapButton1=1

and it worked instantly. I saved these two in a text file in ~/bin, named it tpad_settings, and added the line

@tpad_settings

to ~/.config/lxsession/LXDE/autostart, and it starts up automatically at login.

Remove World’s Most Annoying Beep

Unfortunately Acer decided to include an extremely loud and annoying system chime/beep that is on full volume constantly. Thankfully this can be fixed by running this command:

amixer -c 1 sset Beep 0

Keybindings

It’s easy to add custom keybindings (universal keyboard shortcuts) in LXDE. Just open and edit ~/.config/openbox/lxde-rc.xml. There’s a whole section of keybindings; just copy/paste a complete code block, give it a different key and command, and you’re good to go. I added one for printscreen and my tethering utility (easytether).

I also messed around a bit with cairo-dock, xcompmgr (compositing manager) and conky. I wasn’t able to get any to run satisfactorily on the netbook- either too heavy or too many odd graphics quirks for my taste. My only gripe with conky was the fact that I couldn’t get background transparency without a compositing manager, and all compositing managers produced too many graphics bugs.

All told, I am extremely satisfied with the performance of Fedora LXDE on this netbook.

